A Day In The Life of Lucy Lingard – Residential Lettings

Lucy Lingard Residential LettingsThere’s lots more than meets the eye going on, day in, day out in our Residential Lettings departments.

So we asked Lucy Lingard based at our Shipston office, what a typical day was like for her…

I joined the Residential Lettings team in the Shipston-on-Stour office in August 2015. Growing up in Tredington and currently living in Stratford-upon-Avon, I am familiar with the local marketplace. Currently I am a student member of ARLA (The Association of Residential Letting Agents) and I am studying for the NFoPP (National Federation of Property Professionals) Level 3 Technical Award in Residential Letting & Property Management. I have passed two exams and have another two to go.

09:00am – 10:00am Arriving in the office for my first cup of decaf tea of the day I say a quick hello to Jason Statham on the wall calendar and my colleagues Sue and Helen. As soon as it hits 09:00am the phone is ringing and I’m busy with potential tenants arranging property viewings and current tenants reporting repairs. I quickly instruct contractors to resolve any property maintenance issues, then catch up on my emails and process some invoices for repair work. We have a lot of enquiries from www.rightmove.co.uk and www.onthemarket.com which need my attention.

10:00am – 11:00am I’ve had an application in on a property from some potential tenants who visit the office. I process their references, check their photo ID’s and bank statements. Gas safety checks are required to be carried out every year by law on each property, so I check to see if any are outstanding or soon to expire and call contractors to find out what’s happening.

11:00am – 12:00pm I’m out of the office and in the car until lunch showing several potential tenants around a new rental property.

12:00pm – 13:00pm Time for a quick walk around Shipston to pick up lunch. I have a read of the latest property news stories in the national newspapers and on various property websites.

13:00pm – 14:00pm I catch up on any messages I’ve missed whilst out of the office, then chase up any outstanding 5 year electrical safety tests and 1 year PAT (Portable Appliance Testing) due on managed properties with us. My turn for the office ‘tea round’ and a client’s brought in some chocolates for us (so a few of those go missing as well!).

House keys14:00pm – 15:00pm I’m organising MTIs (Mid Tenancy Inspections) on several properties and I contact the tenants to arrange a suitable time for my manager Sue Maaz to visit. We can’t just enter the property even if we have keys, we need to ask the tenant’s permission.

15:00pm – 16:00pm I print out a list of lettings viewings for Saturday and get the keys ready, printing out application forms and property brochures so I’m prepared.

16:00pm – 17.30pm I start audio typing up a ‘Schedule of Condition’ (which includes an ‘Inventory’) on a property a tenant is due to move into shortly, then organise smoke alarms and carbon monoxide detectors that need to be installed there before the tenants move in. Being so busy the time flies and it’s soon time for home and a sit down watching Kirsty and Phil on ‘Location Location Location’.

When I first started in Lettings I didn’t realise how much legislation was involved. I have definitely never been bored, it’s a busy role and I have learnt a lot. Studying towards my qualification has helped my knowledge develop further. We are a small but friendly team who want the best for our landlords, keeping tenants and properties well managed.

